top of page

Reflective Supervision
 

John Dewey.png

Reflective Supervision/Consultation (RS/C) is distinct due to the shared exploration of the parallel process.

 

Attention to all relationships is important, including the ones between the RS/C Provider and their supervisees, the IECMH practitioner and their clinical/administrative supervisor, between the practitioner and a parent, and between the infant, toddler, and young child and their parent(s)/care providers.  It is critical to understand how each relationship affects all others and how RS/C relates to professional and personal development within one's discipline by attending to the emotional content of the work, and how our unique reactions to that content affect the work. 

images.jpg
Reflective Supervision/Consultation & The Endorsement Process

VAIMH Endorsement applicants and endorsees who provide direct services to infants, toddlers, young children and their families, and/or provide reflective supervision receive regular, ongoing RSC support from qualified Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Endorsed (IECMH-E) providers of reflective supervision.

  • I/EC Family Specialist (FS) (FS-ERS)

  • I/EC Mental Health Specialist (MHS) (MHS-ERS)

  • I/EC Mental Health Mentor-Clinical (MHM-C)

FS

MHS

MHM-C

RSC Required for Initial Endorsement:               24 hours                            50 hours                50 hours
RSC Required for Annual Renewal:                       12 hours                              12 hours                 12 hours

Through collaborative discussion using emotions to explore the network of relationships surrounding the applicant/endorsee and his/her clients, the RSC Provider integrates knowledge about an infant or young child's development with an understanding of the parent's or caregiver's needs. This often leads to professional and personal development within one's discipline by attending to the emotional content of the work and how reactions to that content can affect the work.

Primary objectives of RSC include:

  • Forming a trusting relationship between supervisor and practitioner

  • Establishment of consistent/predictable meetings and times

  • A focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) to deepen commitment to these values

  • Engaging in discussion about an infant, parent/caregiver, and emerging relationships and be held in a safe, confidential space

  • Exploration of the parallel process

  • Opportunities for personal reflection

  • Holding the baby/child in mind

Who Can Provide to Whom?
FS.jpg

Can Provide RSC To:

MHS.jpg

Can Provide RSC To:

MHM-C.jpg

Can Provide RSC To:

VAIMH RSC Providers

Virginia's Endorsed Reflective Supervisors
 

Credential
VAIMH RS Provider
Email
Can Provide RS To:
Other Language
IECFS-ERS
Melinda Whitehurst, Ed.S.
mwoverlook@gmail.com
FS | MHS
ECFS-ERS
Charisse Dawkins, LCSW
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Tanya Coles, MA
tanya.coles1028@gmail.com
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Meredith Fulcher, BS
mfulcher@humankind.org
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Rosemary Heflin, MSW
rosemary.heflin@childhealthpartnership.org
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Dee Holland-Brock, MA
rosehill3129@gmail.com
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Lynn Kosanovich, MA
lshkosanovich@gmail.com
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Shannon O'Neill, MS
sarehart@readykidscville.org
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Carmen Quenga, MA
Carmen.quenga@loudoun.gov
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Ashley Rogers, MS
RogersA@Chesterfield.gov
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Josetta Thomae, PhD
jcthomae@vbgov.com
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Jaylene Trueblood, MA
jtrueblood@chesapeakeibh.net
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Johanna Van Doren-Jackson, M.A., CCC-SLP
johanna.vandorenjackson@loudoun.gov
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Leah Walker, BS
lwalker@culpeperhumanservices.org
FS | MHS
IFS-ERS
Juliana Weaver, MA
jweaver@readykidscville.org
FS | MHS
Spanish, Portuguese
IMHS
Debbie Coleman, LCSW
thenewdebdeb@gmail.com
FS | MHS (through 12/2024)
ECMHM-C
Jessica Brickey, LCSW
JBrickeyLCSW@gmail.com
All Categories
ECMHM-C
Sandra Triveri, LPC
sandra_triveri@yahoo.com
All Categories
Spanish
IMHM-C
Judith Martens, LCSW
Judith.Martens@verizon.net
All Categories

Who Can Provide to Whom?
 

RS Resources

Reflective Supervision Resources

RSC_How You Are.jpg
bottom of page